Interview with Diane, Random Quirks

Diane of Random Quirks has lived in Manchester in the UK since she became a student in 2006. She loves it so much that she doesn’t want to ever leave. Having moved around a lot as a child, she hasn’t ever felt so at home anywhere else. The house where Diane lives includes three friends who have two kittens; Axle and Rose. They are little terrors who make up for it by being so cute.

Diane describes herself as a quirky, random masters student who likes bright colours. She always has her phone and laptop nearby. Something most people don’t know about her is she’s lived in 18 different homes in 21 years and five of them were in last year alone. She says, “Five in a year is my personal record. When people ask where I’m from, I actually don’t know what to say.” Make sure and look at all her pieces at Random Quirks.

How long have you been making Barbie earrings?

For well over two years now as well as the other quirky jewelery I make.

Why did you start?

I sort of fell into making jewelery after realizing I didn’t have the patience for sewing. Plus there was a lot less chance of hurting myself (I’m a bit accident-prone).

Where do you get your materials?

I get my materials from a variety of places, including my old toy collection, donations from friends and eBay. This way, the majority of the pieces I make are completely unique and cannot be made again.

Do you have a dedicated work area/room?

Does my bed count? Not much room in the house so I just work anywhere. I’d love to have a proper studio one day.

Is this your full-time job? Hobby? Fun?

I’m a masters student so this is like a part time job, though I’d love it to be a full time one.

Do you do other kinds of crafts?

I also paint t-shirts and from time to time sew a bag or two.

Do you have a best seller?

I guess it would be the Barbie shoe earrings, though my necklaces sell pretty well too.

What is your favorite?

All my pieces are my babies so I couldn’t pick one favourite. My favourite things to make are the necklaces as there is a deeper creative process.

What do you see yourself doing in 5 years?

This hopefully? Please let it be this. If not, I guess some kind of job in fashion since that is what my degree and masters is in.

Have any advice for people trying to start their own handcrafted business?

Research, research, research. Then jump in with both feet and go for it.

Comments

  1. says

    What an awesome line of jewelry!!! I read this and found a lot of similarities with you:

    1) I've moved around a lot as well – mostly as a child as my dad was in the military. You have me beat on the most residences in a single year, though…mine is only 4 (smile).
    2) I'm a Masters Student
    3) I'm moving to England this year (after my marriage)
    4) I love making one-of-a-kind pieces
    5) and I would LOVE to be making jewelry as a full-time job 5 years from now!

    I'm wondering, will you be participating in the Lincolnshire Christmas Fair in December? I would love to see your pieces there!

    I think you have a stellar idea here and the pieces are just so cute! It brings out the little girl in all of us that we don't always let out or don't let out often enough – kudos to you!

    -Marguerite

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>